The Wedding Crasher: A Short Story

Hey guys!

I was looking for a prompt for something to write up for everyone, something to spark an idea, and sure enough I found one! This is a prompt I found on the Writer’s Digest website, and if you like the story or feel like you want to write your own response to the prompt, you may find it here. Without further ado, here is my rendition, called The Wedding Crasher.


Today was supposed to be the most perfect day of my life; I was going to marry my best friend, the man of my dreams. But that was before Michael decided to run in and publicly declare his undying love for me; that he can’t live without me, even though he’s been just fine without me for the last three years, and even before that, when he found another girl to “love” in my house, and my bed. I was devastated then, but shortly after, I met Nathan, who pulled me up from rock bottom and continued to lift my spirit. He proposed after two bumpy years, and after everything with Michael, I couldn’t see myself with anyone else.

Here we are, facing each other hand in hand, in front of our family and friends. I felt myself glowing with pure happiness and love and light, as Nathan did the same, beaming down at me as we waited to start our lives as husband and wife. Mostly, I was excited to tell him that we’ll be parents by the end of the year. I had only recently found out, and I had not shown any signs or anything yet other than being late, and I had planned on telling him on the first night of our honeymoon.

The preacher asked if anyone had any objections to the marriage, and as he took a breath in, a familiar voice rang out from the back of the church. “I do,” he hollered, “Cassie, you can’t marry this guy!” He stood and quickly made his way up the aisle, as my smile faltered and Nathan dropped my hands.

“You’ve got to be kidding me, Cassie,” Nathan muttered. “How did he even know? Did you know about this?”

“No, I didn’t know! Nathan, please don’t be like this,” I pleaded. No, no no no! My mind screamed, This is just a dream, this isn’t really happening…

“Cassie, I still love you!” Michael declared. I looked away from him and Nathan, who stood in front of me, over to my parents, who both shook their heads. They never approved of Michael, and were ecstatic when I accepted Nathan’s proposal, as they should have been. Nathan was truly good for me, and brought out the best in me. “It’s always been you and me,” he took a step closer as Nathan blocked his path to get to me.

“Back off man,” Nathan warned. “Let’s not forget who messed up here. You cheated on her, and she left you! You had your chance, and you blew it. Now, step back, and let a real man treat her as the queen that she is!” He bellowed. Nathan’s face was red hot with anger, and Michael began backing away, like a dog with his tail between his legs. As he turned around, I stopped him.

“Why, Michael?” I whispered. He stopped in his tracks. When he didn’t answer, I snapped. “Why would you do this? And on my wedding day, of all days!” I shrieked. “You have no right to be here, no right to do this to me, after I found you in my bed with your intern!”

“I still loved you then, as I do now! People make mist-”

“People make mistakes, but this is unforgivable.” I interrupted. “Nathan would never do this to me, and he will never do this to me.” I paused, ready to drop the news in front of everyone. “He won’t ever betray me and our child the way you did.”

At once, we heard a choir of gasps, and saw everyone’s jaws drop at once. Nathan stiffened, then quickly turned to face me. “What did you just say?” He looked as shocked as everyone else did. Happy tears slid down my face, as I released the rest of the news.

“Nathan, I’m having your child. Our child,” I said breathlessly, “I wanted to surprise you tomorrow night on our honeymoon but honestly, I’m glad you know now. I’ve wanted to tell you all week.” He picked me up in a giant hug and spun me around, and kissed me over and over again. The preacher stopped us, to ask if we were to continue the ceremony or if we would postpone. Before I could answer, Nathan took the floor and spoke for the both of us.

“We’re going to go elope in Vegas, and go on a vacation to celebrate our marriage and our child together,” he yelled. “The ceremony is over, but all of you can have fun at the reception. There will be dinner, drinks, and an open bar-”

“Oh, hell.” I interrupted. “There’s no ceremony or reception. Go have dinner and drinks at the bar around the corner, we’ll think of you all when we board the plane to Vegas. Thanks for coming!” I looked at Nathan again, and his full, beautiful smile was back again. He beamed at me once more as he laced his fingers through mine, and we ran down the aisle, past Michael, who reeked of alcohol. Past all of our friends and family, who looked surprised and annoyed that they dressed up and came to church for nothing. We flopped down in the limo. “To the airport!” I giggled.

Nathan and I were ready to fly into our future, our new life together, even if we weren’t married just yet.

Leave a Reply

