Quotes/Updates: August 11, 2016.

Hello everyone!

I know, I know… I haven’t posted in awhile, and for that, I apologize. I’ve been incredibly busy between working, interviews, reading, and recording the podcast. I have not written a whole lot, but I do plan on buckling down this weekend and getting some more stories out for you all!

The last couple of days have been really tough, and usually when I’m having trouble, books and quotes comfort me. I found a few really good ones at work today that I wanted to share with all of you, with hope that, if anyone else is having trouble too or just had a rough day, some words of encouragement are sometimes what gets us going again.

  • “The soul usually knows what to do to heal itself. The challenge is to silence the mind.” -Unknown
  • “You cannot swim for new horizons until you have courage to lose sight of the shore.” -William Faulkner
  • “It’s not about being the best, it’s about being better than you were yesterday.” -Unknown
  • Faith is the art of holding on to things, in spite of your changing moods and circumstances.” -C.S. Lewis
  • “Strange as it may seem, I still hope for the best, even though the best, like an interesting piece of mail, so rarely arrives, and even when it does it can be lost so easily.” -Lemony Snicket
  • “Believe in miracles. I have seen so many of them come when every other indication would say that hope was lost. Hope is never lost.” -Jeffrey R. Holland
  • “For what it’s worth: it’s never too late to be whoever you want to be. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start over.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • “Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle.” -Christian D. Larson

At work, I write a lot of different quotes on my whiteboards right next to my desk, and since I just switched desks, I couldn’t just leave them blank. I wrote the quote by Christian Larson up on the board first, and she noticed it within just a few minutes, and talked to me about it. Of course, she first told me she loved the quote, and that it’s a good saying, but what she said next really made me stop and think. “We don’t do that enough, do we? Believe in ourselves.” Lately, I think my brain has been trying to silence what my heart was trying to say, because my mind was fooling me. Sure, I believe in myself. But do I really? And if not, why not believe in myself? Can I truly accomplish what I need to without first believing in myself?

I was feeling pretty defeated this morning, and despite my medication, my anxiety has really been acting up lately, especially today. After I calmed down, I made a couple of decisions. One, I need to really, truly believe in myself. Two, I need to truly, honestly chase my dream of writing, really pursue it, and make it happen. I have the support of all of you, my friends, and my family; the only person holding me back is me. After I made those two decisions, I felt a little better, and a little more like I can tackle this dream, and make it reality. I truly hope all of you will take this crazy ride with me, because I am so excited to share what I have written, and what I will continue to write in the future.

Leave a Reply

